Skip to main content

What Is The Fire Authority?

Humberside Fire Authority was formed on 1 April 1996 following The Humberside Fire Services Combination Order 1995 being passed by Parliament.

Since then Humberside Fire and Rescue Service has served communities within the areas of East Riding of Yorkshire Council, Kingston upon Hull City Council, North East Lincolnshire Council and North Lincolnshire Council. Elected Members (22) are appointed by these Authorities to sit on the Fire Authority for a period determined by the appointing authority, normally one year from the Annual Meeting of the Fire Authority in May each year. The number of Members appointed by each of the 4 authorities is based on the number of registered electors in each Council’s area and according to the political composition of each Council. The current composition of the Fire Authority is as follows:

  1. East Riding of Yorkshire Council: 8 seats (Conservative 6, Independent 1, Liberal Democrat 1)
  2. Hull City Council: 6 seats (Labour 3, Liberal Democrats 3)
  3. North East Lincolnshire Council: 4 seats (Conservative 3, Labour 1)
  4. North Lincolnshire Council: 4 seats (Conservative 3, Labour 1)

The Fire Authority is responsible for providing, training and equipping a Fire and Rescue Service capable of undertaking the following functions:

  1. Fire prevention
  2. Fire safety
  3. Firefighting and rescue
  4. Road traffic collision extrication and rescue
  5. Other emergency rescue activities including responding to flooding and terrorist attack
  6. Special discretionary services (these are subject to charging)

For further information about the responsibilities of the Authority, click on the links below:

Fire and Rescue Services Act 2004 
Civil Contingencies Act 2004