Skip to main content

Appointment of External Independent Members to the Governance, Audit & Scrutiny Committee

23 June 2014

Humberside Fire Authority (HFA) is seeking up to 4 external Independent Members to join its Governance, Audit and Scrutiny (GAS) Committee.


The GAS Committee was recently established by the Authority, following a review of its decision making processes and has recently had its role re-defined in new Terms of Reference approved by the Authority.

What is the Governance, Audit and Scrutiny Committee?

The GAS Committee is made up of eight members of the public from a variety of backgrounds and has been primarily established to help the Authority to:

• To make observations to the HFA concerning its governance arrangements
• Oversee internal control and risk management arrangements
• Consider internal and external audit reports and assessments
• Performance, Risk and Programme Management
• Review and scrutinise decisions and the implementation of policy at HFA
• Review the performance of the organisation

What are we looking for?

You will have good expertise in audit, or financial governance; corporate governance, and scrutiny of decision making. You will also have a keen interest in high standards of integrity. Our information pack provides further details of the skills needed.


You will not be eligible to apply if in the last five years you have been an Officer or Member of the Humberside Fire Authority or one of our four Constituent Unitary Authorities (Hull, East Riding, North Lincolnshire, North East Lincolnshire). Further information on eligibility can be found in the information pack. Applications are positively encouraged from under-represented groups and the Authority is committed to equality of opportunity.

If you think this is for you, and wish to undertake this important and rewarding role, please contact Mathew Buckley, Acting Monitoring Officer/Secretary, for an information pack, on telephone number (01482) 567174 or visit our website

The closing date is Thursday, 17 July 2014.