Skip to main content

Karen and Duncan are the toast of the HFRS Community Awards 2014

25 September 2014

The 6th Annual HFRS Community Awards took place on 25 September and it proved to be an emotional and inspirational night.

Karen and Duncan are the toast of the HFRS Community Awards 2014

In front of a packed Country Park Inn, awards were given to those who have showed exceptional bravery, courage, determination and teamwork. Blair Jacobs hosted the event and BBC TV presenter and reporter Damian Johnson entertained the guests and valued sponsors with tales of family, football and fame across Yorkshire.

Amongst the highlights of a glitzy evening were Pocklington being crowned Best Station and the recognition of the Emergency First Responders scheme in East Riding for its ground-breaking work. Scunthorpe Blue Watch also received an award for their brave and rapid actions at the Ashby Road, Scunthorpe explosion earlier in the year.

The final two awards were much anticipated, one having been voted for by the public and the final award a closely guarded secret which CFO Dene Sanders chose personally.

There were hundreds of votes for each nominee in the Local Hero Award category. However, after totalling the text and email votes, the winner was Duncan Kirk who was praised for his bravery in saving a disabled man from a house fire in Norton Grove, Hull.

The finale was an inspirational tale of an employee who, rather than oppose change or complain about it, has embraced the challenge of finding a new direction within HFRS. Karen Capes, former cook at Clough Road Fire Station, took it upon herself to retrain in a totally new area and use her infectious personality and welcoming smile to good effect. She is now a valued member of the Admin team at headquarters and is usually the first face you see as you enter the building. She has worked tirelessly on a number of special projects including the launch event for the Hull 2020 project.

CFO Dene Sanders said that Karen was a deserved winner of the award – the first he has given as Chief:

“She has used the recent changes in the Service as an opportunity rather than something to be feared. Karen has embraced change and is an inspirational story to us all”.

Karen is pictured above with daughter Jodie and CFO Dene Sanders

Award for Service to the Community – Sponsored by BP

Tim Smith
Darren Gilson
Lisa Blow

Winner: Tim Smith

The Project / Team or Individual to have the most impact on improving people’s lives – Sponsored by Clugstons

Shona Tinch
WM Jason Frary
Jason Kelly

Winner: Jason Kelly

The Project / Team or Individual to have the most impact on Safer Communities, Safer Firefighters – Sponsored by ARCO
Liam Plunkett & Dave Bristow
Julie Danby

Winners: Dave Bristow and Liam Plunkett

The Project / Team or individual which most engages with vulnerable and hard to reach people – Sponsored by Bristol Uniforms

Kevin Allenby
CM Carl Frith & FF Scott Rumblow
Steph Smith
Cath Holmes

Winner: Steph Smith

The Award for inspiring others – sponsored by Shared Agenda Solutions

Gary Barnett
Gavin Hudson
Ann Dunn
Andy Peart

Winner: Andy Peart

Best Fire Station Award – sponsored by KC

This award is decided by performance and standards as well as nomination by Group Managers and public letters of thanks.

Winner: Pocklington Fire Station

Best Team – sponsored by BAE Systems
Scunthorpe Blue Watch
Corporate Communications

Winner: Scunthorpe Blue Watch

The Award for Excellence – sponsored by Howdens
Nigel Smith
Mike Brown

Winner: Mike Brown

The Award for the Partner organisation assisting HFRS to engage with hard to reach and vulnerable people – sponsored by HFR Solutions Community Interest Company

The Grimsby Institute (Debbie Fisher, Michaela Bratley and Donna Finney)
Hull Domestic Abuse Partnership

Winner: Grimsby Institute

Youth Group or Individual young person of the year – sponsored by SCANIA

Elizabeth Teesdale
Chris Sinderson
Dane Young

Winner: Elizabeth Teesdale

The Local Hero Award -sponsored by DFDS Seaways

Joe Toplass
Duncan Kirk
Frank Walster
Hilary Daley & Sue McKay

Winner: Duncan Kirk

2014 Chief’s Award – sponsored by Fire Angel
Winner: Karen Capes